Ravin RoundUp

OMG! It's Memorial Day!

Welcome to the Ravin RoundUp: Where content and commerce meet for cocktails. Well this week’s edition is to get you in the mood for Memorial Day Weekend. Because is it just me? Or did that come real fast? I’m still reading inspirational quotes on IG that say “2024 is gonna be your year, Sis.” (And I reply with both heart and prayer emjois!) But anyway, I guess this is where were at so let’s…

ROUND IT UP!

I know we’re all getting over a week of:

“Baby Reindeer,” and still googling “Did Fiona Harvey actually go to jail?”

“Hacks” Spoiler Alert! Yes, Christina Hendricks and Hannah Einbender made out (with their boobs), yes Fitz and Jean Smart hooked up and yes my bestie Cat Greenleaf got a super fun shout out!!

Not to mention…Jasmine Crockett’s meme of the decade “Bleach Blonde Bad Built Butch Body” and Seinfeld and Gary V’s commencement speeches oh and YES THEY HAVE STILL NOT RELEASED THE HOSTAGES but….

It is a 3 day weekend for those who are employed and for the unemployed its 3 days to continue to stress about whether to let yourself enjoy a BBQ or continue to scour LinkedIn for jobs and/or torture yourself for not going to Law School or becoming a Dental Hygienist!

But let’s focus on the positive!

“The Simple Favor” of Blake Lively’s Wardrobe.

Courtesy Lionsgate

Definitely the best content I have seen this week is the Netflix 2018 Paul Fieg film “A Simple Favor” starring Blake Lively and Anna Kendrick in roles they’ve been training for their whole lives. These two beautiful, intelligent women have mastered the art of playing their “type” and then playing their “bizarro type”- and it’s genius. The only thing that occasionally outshines their performances is the wardrobe. See 2018 Vanity Fair article here for the backstory of why costume designer Renée Ehrlich Kalfus decided to go with an 80’s Men’s suiting vibe for Blake and find out what a “Striptease Dickey!” is all about!

And now to the shopping! Normally I like to RoundUp products and experiences inspired by the content I’m loving but it’s Memorial Day Weekend! So if it just snuck up on you and you’re visiting friends for the weekend, chances are you didn’t have time to get a gift. I think it’s perfectly okay to show up for the weekend with flowers, wine and dessert.

And then if the weekend was great, afterwards you can send a REALLY thoughtful gift, once you see what they truly might need or appreciate. I’ve tried my best to dig up some awesome recs on Amazon for my Rounders. (Okay I’m not really sure if I want to make “Rounders” a thing- certainly does not have the flair of “Swifties!” but I’m trying it out). Now some of the below gift ideas may “say” on Amazon they could arrive by Saturday but I would not risk it- just send it afterwards.

LET’S SAY THEY HAVE A LAKE…

LET’S SAY THEY HAVE A LAKE AND THERE WAS A MISHAP OVER THE WEEKEND AND YOU OWE THEM BIG TIME FOR BREAKING SOMETHING OR ACCIDENTALLY MURDERING A HOUSE GUEST!

I DON’T KNOW HOW I NECESSARILY FEEL ABOUT THESE BUT IT SEEMED LIKE I NEEDED TO SHARE:

YOU CAN NEVER HAVE TOO MANY SMALL PLATES

And Selimica has the best selection of various colorful dishes in ceramic, porcelain and melamine that have gone in and out of my amazon basket more times than ADD NAUGHTY JOKE HERE! But alas I have not purchased them due to this horribly dragged out fiscally responsible chapter in my life. VOMIT! You know when I’m not even buying unnecessary appetizer plates for $29.99, shit is getting REAL!!! Anyway, I’m sure whoever you stayed with this weekend would appreciate a Selimica Something. 

OVER THE TOP MEAL YOU CAN MAKE IF YOU WANT TO OUT HOSTESS YOUR HOSTESS

I saw this Cobb Salad Board on @lifebyleanna’s IG and immediately sent it to my Sis N Law who immediately sent it to her Sis N Law and so and so and so and so on.

I have not tried this yet myself but I did find this beautiful 26 inch round wooden board from JK Adams for $194.96.

MOVE OVER MAHJONG AND BACKGAMMON, NOW COMES SOMETHING LEANER

I just was recently reintroduced to Rummy Q and I loved it. Keep in mind I’m not a game person. I hate them all. The “Candy Land” years with my children nearly caused me to throw myself over “Gumdrop Mountain.” But Rummy Q I can handle. It’s kind of like cards but with fun little tiles and the rounds go quickly.

I got this Uvcany small fun travel set for $24.99

And if there are kids ages 7 and up I HIGHLY recommend HEIST. Along with pool weights- It’s one of my go to gifts!. It’s my jam. It’s like playing “Oceans 11” in 10 minutes, but without George Clooney or Julia Roberts.

WHEN IN DOUBT, NEST CANDLE IT OUT!

And of course there’s always RHONY alum Dorinda Medley’s go to gift to “make it nice” a Nest Candle. And they are having a 20% off sale so go and get it girl! No one has ever not appreciated a Nest Candle. Use Code SUMMER20 on $75 + thru 5.27.

Well that’s it for this weeks’ RoundUp! Wishing everyone a happy and safe Memorial Day Weekend! And hope your post weekend gifts are a hit!

And if you want to check out all the goodies in one place they’re on my Linktr.ee https://tr.ee/uqWdk

SUBSCRIBE

If you want to sign up for the RAVIN ROUNDUP please subscribe. I promise only to deliver the most fun stuff ever to your inbox.

And if you’re interested in starting your own newsletter I highly recommend Beehiiv’s platform. It’s super user friendly. Clearly if I figured it out- so can you! And if you sign up now you get a 30-day trial and 20% OFF for 3 months.

Reply

or to participate.